Art + Tales: The Watermelon Seed

5 in stock

Tuesday, May 14, 9:30 – 10:00 a.m.

In this art class for the preschool set (ages 2-4), we will read and explore a different picture book each week and then make our own art inspired by the story using a variety of materials. Dress to allow for a mess! Grownups must stay with their young artists during the class. Space is limited: registration is required to reserve your seat!

View and register for upcoming Art + Tales events by clicking here.

  • Ages: 2-4 with an adult
  • Session: May 14, 2024
  • Instructor: Kelli Gleiner
  • Cost: Free, suggested $5 per class donation
  • Class Size: maximum of 12 children registered per program day
  • Class Location: CCAC’s new home (3412 Clifton Avenue)

How to Register: enter donation amount in the box below, then hit “donate”! Registration closes prior to the program. If you do not see a “donate” option, the program is full!

Kelli Gleiner
Kelli is an author, fiber artist, and art educator in Cincinnati, Ohio. She holds a BFA in drawing and painting from Bowling Green State University. She’s taught art in the public and private sectors, made a lot of coffee, stayed home with a little human, wrote grants for a nonprofit, and coordinated events for the best children’s bookstore in the world, all while making art.

Her two board books, Cheer Up, Monster and A Day With Monster, feature a quirky felted monster/abominable snowman friend that was popular on her (now defunct) Etsy site, and are available now from blue manatee press. 

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.
With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli’s picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

5 in stock

    Title

    Go to Top